The Wellan Board of Trustees works with the Head of School and senior administrators to set strategic goals and policies for the School. It is ultimately responsible for all financial and legal matters. The Board does not address operational or personnel issues.


The Board is comprised of current and alumni parents, external educational programming and administration experts, and the Head of School.


Standing Committees of the Board include the Executive, Finance, Governance and Nominating, and Community Engagement and Development committees.


Annually, the Board may choose to create ad hoc committees or task forces to focus on special projects. The Board welcomes volunteers for these committees as well as nominations for potential future trustees.


For more information about the Board of Trustees, please contact the Head of School or a current Trustee.




   Lauris Lambergs, Chair

   Kerry Stevens, Vice Chair

   Brian Alfermann, Treasurer

   Cara Candal, Clerk



   Jacqueline Angell

   David Bono

   Sabeena Chacko Raskin

   Erica DeRosa

   Jill Dumas

   Brian Elworthy

   Chad Hinkle

   Mac Jackson

   Anish John

   Bob Kane

   Rachel Scott

   Anna Turkova-Khan

   Claudia Urrea


Head of School

   Elizabeth Black

Wellan Montessori School

80 Crescent Avenue

Newton Centre, MA 02459

Phone: (617) 969-4488   

Fax: (617) 969-4430

SOCIAL-ICONS white-09.png
SOCIAL-ICONS white-08.png
SOCIAL-ICONS white-07.png
SOCIAL-ICONS white-06.png


Wellan Montessori School is a non-profit school which admits students of every race, color, religion, sex, gender identity, national or ethnic origin, or political beliefs to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to the students of the School. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national or ethnic origin, disability, marital status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or political views.